Black Friday shopping craziness

Clothing StoreI don’t like shopping. I like having nice clothes, shoes and purses, but the process of getting them, not so much. With the temperatures just starting to be below zero, I knew I would have to stock up my closet with new sweaters, scarves, gloves and hats. When you live in a country where winter is the dominant season, having a variety of scarves, gloves and hats is justified. At least that is what I tell myself.

Since I needed new clothes anyway, I thought I might as well get them on Black Friday when pretty much everything is on sale. For those not so familiar with this “tradition”, Black Friday is the day following Thanksgiving in the United Stated and marks the beginning of the Christmas shopping season. Stores open very early, close very late and offer special promotional sales. The Canadians seem to have adopted this a while ago.

So last Friday I asked my husband to drop me off at the mall. He had to run some errands as well, and I told him I would call once I was done. I hopped out of the car right at the entrance and quickly closed the door behind me. A few seconds later I realized that I had left my phone in the car, but when I turned, he was already gone. I looked around and spotted his car approaching a stop sign. Hoping that he would have to wait for a while until he could turn onto the major street, I started running across the mall’s parking lot. I also waved and jumped, but he turned right as soon as it was safe to go.

After my unplanned physical exercise, I went into the building trying to find a pay phone. Luckily, they still exist. The problem was though that it didn’t work, so I had to be a little bit more creative. I knew that my husband’s hair dresser was in the same mall and hoped they would help me out. I told the receptionist my phone story (leaving out the running, waving and jumping) and that my husband was one of their customers. She said she was glad to help and let me use their phone. I could’t reach my husband – it seemed like I really had to earn this particular shopping trip – but left him a message saying when and where to pick me up. I was finally ready to go into the first store.

As I said at the beginning, I am not a huge shopping fan. I also knew that it would be very busy on Black Friday, so I tried to organize my shopping trip in the most efficient way. In the morning I had already done some online research and identified three stores I wanted to go to. This turned out to be an excellent idea. I had never seen so many people wandering around in a shopping mall before. There were even line-ups in front of some of the stores, because they wouldn’t let more customers in.

It took me one and a half hours to get what I wanted – not bad for a Black Friday, I would say. I was happy I had to pay much less for things I wanted to get anyway, but I was also looking forward to leaving the mall as soon as possible. Would I do the Black Friday shopping craziness again? If it helps me to save money I was already prepared to spend, definitely.

Photo: pixabay.com

4 thoughts on “Black Friday shopping craziness

  1. What a crazy day!! Leaving the phone in the car is stressful anyway and then on top the stress of the mall. Oh gosh! I can’t even imagine… I hope your husband was actually there for the time and place you left him in your voicemail lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

